Monday, February 2, 2015

The Miniaturist Book Review

The Miniaturist

By: Greer Macallister
Good Reads Synopsis:
Set in seventeenth century Amsterdam-a city ruled by glittering wealth and oppressive religion-a masterful debut steeped in atmosphere and shimmering with mystery, in the tradition of Emma Donoghue, Sarah Waters, and Sarah Dunant.

"There is nothing hidden that will not be revealed…"

On a brisk autumn day in 1686, eighteen-year-old Nella Oortman arrives in Amsterdam to begin a new life as the wife of illustrious merchant trader Johannes Brandt. But her new home, while splendorous, is not welcoming. Johannes is kind yet distant, always locked in his study or at his warehouse office-leaving Nella alone with his sister, the sharp-tongued and forbidding Marin.

But Nella's world changes when Johannes presents her with an extraordinary wedding gift: a cabinet-sized replica of their home. To furnish her gift, Nella engages the services of a miniaturist-an elusive and enigmatic artist whose tiny creations mirror their real-life counterparts in eerie and unexpected ways . . .

Johannes' gift helps Nella to pierce the closed world of the Brandt household. But as she uncovers its unusual secrets, she begins to understand-and fear-the escalating dangers that await them all. In this repressively pious society where gold is worshipped second only to God, to be different is a threat to the moral fabric of society, and not even a man as rich as Johannes is safe. Only one person seems to see the fate that awaits them. Is the miniaturist the key to their salvation . . . or the architect of their destruction?

Enchanting, beautiful, and exquisitely suspenseful, The Miniaturist is a magnificent story of love and obsession, betrayal and retribution, appearance and truth.
My Feelings on The Miniaturist:
Well, I normally LOVE historical fiction, but I found it difficult to care for some of these characters.  I had such a hatred for Johannes and Marin.  I kept saying to myself, what horrible people.  I liked the story line, and was compelled to continue reading, I just didn't think the characters were very well developed or believable.  I gave this book 3 stars.  I read it because there was a lot of hype relating to the release of this book.  I felt like it would be something truly captivating, but the characters just didn't do it for me. 
My favorite quote from The Miniaturist is:
“Every woman is the architect of her own fortune.” 
― Jessie BurtonThe Miniaturist
 Find me on Goodreads:  Rachele Hirsch-Brooks

No comments:

Post a Comment